DIFFERENT OUTLOOK.

DIFFERENT OUTLOOK.

It’s a year since my husband stuck an issue of NATURE magazine, a real paper copy, and suggested I try for a blog in it. I diligently read this, for me, unfamiliar publication, tried my hand at it, but my efforts were declined. I am still infinitely grateful to the NATURE blog author and coordinator Jack Leeming because thanks to reading his own posts and his selections I gained many new insights into this new field of writing. A scientist I am not, but I am an author and a happy blogger. My family encouraged me in starting a new blog of my own, and the comments and reactions I receive prompt me to continue. I noticed that I glance at my surroundings with a new eye, a different outlook. And I am happy to share even if only one person happens to read any one of my posts. So, how to be a happy blogger?

  • Formulate your attitude. While a specific magazine blog may be read by target audience only, any blog launched into the world wide web may attract thousands or go viral in no time at all. No, it does not mean that our blogs are better than any professional’s; it just means that we may feel good about it J
  • Pay attention to comments even if you, like me, don’t want to publish all of them on your own web page. I check them regularly, and whenever I see a common thread I try to reply to everybody at once. It helps me realize that as a working mother I have a lot to share, and hopefully help others.
  • Try to stay positive in spite of all the staff that happens daily in the world. Do you ever feel that the world has gone crazy? That in fact any news is often bad news? Rather than add anything gloomy to the already heavy load, share something good, funny, add a dash of humor to your mix.
  • Remember the old maxim charmingly and ungrammatically stated in the “Bambi” cartoon: If you can’t say something nice don’t say nothing at all.

 

So we were recently strolling around in Vienna, that unbelievably beautiful city. The sun was shining, the sky was blue, and we stopped often to stare at yet another lovely building, palace, church or fountain. I took lots of pictures; it was really very hard to choose since every structure, every monument seemed worthy of admiration. Thus I stopped in front of a lovely house and aimed my camera at it. Simultaneously my husband exclaimed, “Oh look, isn’t it amazing? Can you take a picture?” I nodded. But then unexpectedly he took me by the shoulders, gently turned me around and said, “Not this – that!” Yes, I was oohing and aahing about the architecture while he saw something totally different. It was a car, a van, a whatever kind of machine it was, with a very unusual layered front and lots of signs on the sides; the driver’s seat was high above the hood behind a large round windshield. The signs told us it was some sort of Software Security Company. My husband walked around the van repeating, “I’ve never seen anything like that, isn’t it fascinating?” Yes dear. I snapped a few pictures, and then aimed my camera at the magnificent Rathaus, the City Hall which also happened to have lots of machinery in front of it. It turned out that the skating rink was dismantled, the square was being cleaned up and then as I knew from multiple photos the new flowerbeds were to be laid out there.

My life, my whole outlook, my own perception of the world around us definitely changed. My knowledge is so greatly enlarged, and my appreciation of the machinery we see around us daily is certainly enhanced by the new experiences. Without this male ability to see the cars where we see the lovely statues and shop window displays we would probably miss a lot. When I came back to the hotel after a solo run along the main shopping street, I saw fire trucks, police vans and even a cement mixer in the street, so I ran ahead and burst into the hotel lobby worried that something bad had happened while I was out. “What’s going on?” several women screamed as one. The male receptionist who was staring at all the outside activity totally entranced answered automatically without taking his eyes off the unfolding scene, “Not here, not to worry!” Indeed, in a few minutes all the machines dispersed in different directions and everything went back to normal.

Leave a Reply

